Central District Advisory Committee Report No. 1-2020

CENTRAL DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 1-2020

To the Chair and Members Winnipeg Public School Board:

February 4, 2020

The Central District Advisory Committee reports as follows:

1. 2020/2021 Draft Budget

The Secretary-Treasurer was in attendance to provide an overview of the 2020/2021 Draft Budget. The Committee was informed that on January 30, 2020, the Province of Manitoba announced funding for public education. The Committee was informed that the Manitoba government will increase funding for public schools by more than \$6.6 million for the 2020/2021 school year. The Committee was informed that school divisions also raise revenue through local education property taxes. The Committee was informed that the Manitoba government is again requesting that school divisions limit increases to education property taxes to two per cent for the 2020/2021 school year.

The Committee was informed that for the 2020/2021 school year, the Board is proposing a stand pat budget which maintains all programs and services in the WSD.

2. PROVINCIAL K-12 EDUCATION REVIEW

The Committee was informed that the Commission would be releasing the report to the Minister of Education and Training in February 2020. It is anticipated that the report would be publically released in March 2020, which will include recommendations on the key topic areas identified by the Province. School Boards would not have the ability to provide input on the recommendations and would be obligated to implement the recommendations within the timelines established by the Province. The report and recommendations will be shared with parents indicating the next steps to be in compliance with the direction from the Minister of Education.

Respectfully Submitted,

ARLENE REID
Trustee Representative

Central District Advisory Committee Report No. 1-2020

In Attendance:

Voting Representatives:

Cecil Rhodes School
Clifton School
Daniel McIntyre Collegiate
Elmwood High School
Isaac Brock School
Laura Secord School
Lord Selkirk School
Sargent Park School
Tec Voc High School
Wolseley School

Non-Voting/Resource Members:

Community Support Worker, Lord Selkirk School Community Support Worker, Wellington School

Regrets:

Greenway School Principal Sparling School River Elm School

Administration:

Paul Kochan, Secretary-Treasurer & Chief Financial Officer Karin Seiler, Superintendent of Education Services Anne Pereira, Principal, Cecil Rhodes School Adam Dyck, Vice-Principal, Cecil Rhodes School Nancy MacTavish, Principal, Clifton School Joan Fransen, Vice-Principal, Daniel McIntyre College Mike Babb, Principal, Elmwood High School Christopher Torrance, Vice-Principal, Elmwood High School Jeannette Tourangeau, Vice-Principal, Elmwood High School Matt Couture, Principal, École George V School Chris Goring, Principal, Isaac Brock School Amie Johnston, Principal, Lord Selkirk Cree Crowchild, Principal, River Elm School Melody Woloschuk, Principal, Sargent Park School Trevor McVicar, Vice-Principal, Sargent Park School Brian Rogowski, Principal, Wolseley School Thérèse Deleurme, Recording Secretary, Board of Trustees

Trustees:

Trustee Cindy Murdoch Trustee Arlene Reid Trustee Jennifer Chen